Today, for the second day of my field trip to Toronto, me and my friend went to visit the waterfalls at Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada. We had to leave Toronto first in order to reach the town of Niagara Falls which was located at about 2 hours drive from Toronto. So, we spent the entire afternoon driving towards the Water Falls, as we had to first drive through an interstate which was unfortunately filled with traffic, as we were Friday and that many Torontonians and Ontarians had decided to go in the same direction that we were going.

So, I drove all throughout the afternoon, while my friend sometimes entertained me and sometimes slept as I was driving. We had planned on first finding a motel in order to sleep for the night, as in our planning of our trip to Toronto and Niaraga Falls, we hadn’t reserved rooms in hotels or motels, as we thought that we would easily find places to sleep within the days and nights that we planned on staying there. Unfortunately for us, what we thought would be easy turned out to be difficult, as we had a hard time finding a cheap motel as we were driving towards Niaraga Falls. Our initial plan was to find a cheap motel room between the cities of Toronto and Niagara Falls, however, this turned out to be more difficult than we first thought as most of the motels and hotels we stopped at, as we were driving to Niaraga Falls, turned out to be very expensive or had no vacancy. Considering the difficulties we had in finding a cheap motel room, as we were reaching the city of Niaraga Falls we thought that our best bet would be for us to first go and visit the water falls at the city, and then, when night would come, that we would go back to a city near Toronto where we saw a cheap vacant motel which priced for the price of 89$ for a night. However, that would mean that we would have to drive more than 100 km back towards the city of Toronto in order to stay at the cheap motel that we saw as we were driving from Toronto to the city of Niaraga Falls. This seemed our best solution as we were reaching the city of Niagara Falls, since we hadn’t found any motel in our liking since we passed the cheap motel that we saw as we were exiting the busy city of Toronto, Canada.

 

So, that is what we thought of doing as we were reaching the city of Niagara Falls, since we hadn’t found an affordable or a vacant motel since passing by the cheap motel that we saw at a city which was about 110 km away from Niagara Falls. As you can imagine, this wasn’t a very suitable solution since we would have to drive 110 km back to where we left when the night would fall in the city of Niagara Falls. That seemed our best solution at the point we were at when we were at about 15km away from the city of Niagara Falls since we hadn’t found an affordable motel near the city.

Fortunately, to our surprise, once we reached about 25 km away from the city of Niagara Falls, we saw next to the interstate, a cheap motel which advertised prices as low as 59$ plus tax for one night stay. So, we stopped at that motel in order to see if there was a vacant room for the night. Luckily for us, there was vacancy for more than one room left. So, we decided to rent the room for the night. Since we needed 2 bedrooms and air conditioned – temperatures went as high as 34 degrees Celsius plus humidity on that particular day -, the price went to 124$ tax included. Even if that was a bit expensive, we decided to take the room for the night, as we were out of resources other than the other option to drive back to the city near the city of Toronto after the day at Niagara Falls, which now didn’t seem as being a good idea for us. So, we booked for the night and went for the city of Niagara Falls.

 

Once arrived at the city, we went to visit the majestic Falls of Niagara. The temperature was scorching hot that day, as I mentioned that with the humidity factor, the temperature could reach as high as 45 degrees Celsius. So, it wasn’t the best of times to visit the falls, however, we had no other choices as this was our only day where we could visit the falls.

 

So, we spent the afternoon walking near the waterfalls and taking pictures. There were a lot of tourists from all over the world on that day, so much so that we had a hard time walking in a straight line, as we had to walk around a bunch of tourists who, like us, were admiring the view of the waterfalls and taking pictures.

The problem for me started near the end of the day, as my friend decided to smoke some pot. Even if this is against what I stand for, I am still within the phase where I allow my friends to take whatever they want to take, even if I do not stand for it. I have already told some of them that I would not smoke pot any longer, but considering that some of them have not made the same decision I did in regards to pot, I am still allowing myself to spend time with those who smoke pot, even if I should not do so, as it now goes against what I stand for.

 

So, I allowed him to smoke pot even if I felt uncomfortable around him for doing so. So, after he smoked his pot, his behaviour started to change, as he became very much agitated. He started to make fun of the tourists who were around us and even went as far as nagging some of them, whereas he almost got himself into a fight. As I was witnessing his behaviour, all sorts of reactions went through me, whereas I was mostly mad at myself for still hanging around with a person who would act in such an uncivilised fashion. I felt mad about myself for not stopping myself from hanging around with such people, as I was thus clearly witnessing just how disrupting it is to be influenced by marijuana. I mostly felt ashamed of my “friend” and wanted to stay as far from him as possible, as I didn’t want to be seen near him as he was behaving recklessly and obnoxiously towards myself and others all around us. He couldn’t stop himself from laughing arrogantly at myself and at others as he was completely possessed by his infatuated mind within the effects of marijuana. I told him that I didn’t want to take part in his follies but as we were walking back to the car, he was constantly getting into “my face” through him walking and prancing obnoxiously around me so as to nag and bother me more, as he clearly saw that I was mad at him for behaving in such a childish manner. I was so infuriated with him for his childish behaviour that I almost wanted to punch him. Fortunately, I didn’t but I wanted to as I was boiling within myself for allowing such behaviour within my presence.

 

So, it was within that mindset that we went back to the car, and drove back to the motel room which was situated at about 15 km away from the city of Niagara Falls. His obnoxious behaviour didn’t stop when we were back at the motel room unfortunately. The problem with this situation was that I didn’t allow myself to talk to him, as he was unreceptive and completely lost within his mind possession, infatuated within the effects of marijuana. It was not that I didn’t want to talk to him, per say, but it was more that i couldn’t think straight as I was boiling within myself for being on the receiving end of his follies. I was wishing that I hadn’t gone to this field trip with him, as he was nagging and nagging me within his “high”. Through seeing that I was “mad” at him and not talking to him, he laughed even more at me and tried the best he could to make me feel uncomfortable.

 

So, at a point where I just couldn’t take it any longer, I screamed at him and told him that I would not allow myself to spend more time with him if he would continue taking pot when we would be back home after our field trip. I told him that by me accepting and allowing him to smoke pot in my company, that I was thus not being respectful unto myself and to what I am standing for. Moreover, I told him that I decided that I would not be his friend any longer if he were to continue smoking pot in my company.

 

So, after seeing me “explode” within my expression, meaning that I radically opened myself up within the act of talking to him – after having kept all of my frustration within myself throughout all of the evening -, he excused himself for his behaviour and promised me that he would stop being so obnoxious towards me from now on. So, he finally silenced himself and eventually went to sleep while I watched television, happy for having finally told him what I thought about the situation.

 

I will do self-forgiveness on this event in my next blog.